Mothers Of Africa

Here are my two designs I’ve worked on over a number of hours. I painted the backgrounds the previous week to make an African theme pattern, using the colours and shapes. My inspiration came from the first sessions of mark making. I love the technique so much I used it to gain a feel for the shapes and patterns in Africa. The first image is me using free machine embroidery to get  a silhouette effect of the trees in the deserts. I am pleased to take part for the Mothers of Africa charity and looking forward to seeing the quilt, which will be donated and to raise money. The charity is there to support the women in childbirth. The number of women in Africa who die from complications in pregnancy is 1 in 6. I hope that our quilt will spread awareness of this.

Leave a Reply

